Library News

Classes Start Next Week Monday, August 20 – See an Advisor and Get Registered Today!

Library Hours starting next week Monday, August 20 will be: Monday – Thursday:    7:30 a.m. – 9:30 p.m. Friday:                                 7:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Saturday:                           8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Sunday:                              Closed Stop in after class to check out a book or use a computer! Not enrolled yet?  Register after picking your classes from … Continue reading Classes Start Next Week Monday, August 20 – See an Advisor and Get Registered Today!

Learn More

Service Outage – Proquest

There will be a planned maintenance period in some of the library databases this Saturday evening.   The following products will be temporarily unavailable for approximately eight hours beginning Saturday, August 18, 2018 at 9 p.m. U.S. Central Time. Ebook Central ProQuest platform ( Global Newsstream ) Books in Print® LibraryThing for Libraries Digital Sanborn Maps Please plan … Continue reading Service Outage – Proquest

Learn More

August 2018 Book Display

Anniversary of the actual completion of the US Transcontinental Railway, August 1870. Read the full post by visiting our blog!

Learn More

Featured New Books

Take a look at these new arrivals in the Waubonsee libraries.

Book Cover Image

One goal : a coach, a team, and the game that brought a divided town together

"In the tradition of Friday Night Lights and Outcasts United, ONE GOAL tells the inspiring story of the soccer team in a town bristling with racial tension that united Somali refugees and multi-generation Mainers in their quest for state--and ultimately national--glory. When thousands of Somali refugees resettled in Lewiston, Maine, a struggling, overwhelmingly white town, longtime residents grew uneasy. Then the mayor wrote a letter asking Somalis to stop coming, which became a national story. While scandal threatened to subsume the town, its high school's soccer coach integrated Somali kids onto his team, and their passion began to heal old wounds. Taking readers behind the tumult of this controversial team--and onto the pitch where the teammates vied to become state champions and achieved a vital sense of understanding--ONE GOAL is a timely story about overcoming the prejudices that divide us"-- Provided by publisher.

Book Cover Image

The witch : a history of fear, from ancient times to the present

"The witch came to prominence--and often a painful death--in early modern Europe, yet her origins are much more geographically diverse and historically deep. In this landmark book, Ronald Hutton traces witchcraft from the ancient world to the early-modern stake. This book sets the notorious European witch trials in the widest and deepest possible perspective and traces the major historiographical developments of witchcraft. Hutton, a renowned expert on ancient, medieval, and modern paganism and witchcraft beliefs, combines Anglo-American and continental scholarly approaches to examine attitudes on witchcraft and the treatment of suspected witches across the world, including in Africa, the Middle East, South Asia, Australia, and North and South America, and from ancient pagan times to current interpretations. His fresh anthropological and ethnographical approach focuses on cultural inheritance and change while considering shamanism, folk religion, the range of witch trials, and how the fear of witchcraft might be eradicated"-- Provided by publisher.

Libraries Are Social!

Three People Icon

Quotable Quote

Chat Bubbles Icon

“The very existence of libraries affords the best evidence that we may yet have hope for the future of man.”

–T.S. Eliot

Library Hours

This week's library hours.

Sugar Grove
  • 8:00 am - 4:30 pm, Mon - Fri
  • Closed, Sat
  • Closed, Sun
Aurora Downtown
  • 8:00 am - 4:30 pm, Mon - Fri
  • Closed, Sat
  • Closed, Sun
Aurora Fox Valley
  • 8:00 am - 4:30 pm, Mon - Fri
  • Closed, Sat
  • Closed, Sun
Plano
  • 7:30 am - 9:30 pm, Mon - Thu
  • 7:30 am - 4:30 pm, Fri
  • Closed, Sat
  • 7:30 am - 4:30 pm, Sat