Christine J. Sobek, Ed.D.

(630) 466-2300               Linkedin Logo
Christine J. Sobek, Ed.D.

About Dr. Sobek

As president of Waubonsee Community College, Dr. Sobek is responsible for the overall leadership of the college—which serves more than 14,000 credit students each year, employs approximately 1,400 faculty and staff, and offers educational programs and services at a network of four permanent campuses located across the 624-square-mile college district and through extensive online offerings.

Dr. Sobek celebrated her 20th anniversary as president of Waubonsee Community College on July 1, 2021. And, on March 16, 2022, Dr. Sobek announced her intent to retire effective January 4, 2023. Please join us in "Celebrating a Legacy of Transformational Leadership and Exceptional Learning."

Read Dr. Sobek's biography.

Contact Stephanie Wennmacher to request Dr. Sobek's photo. 

Dr. Sobek and Aurora community leaders serve as “Principal for a Day” at West Aurora School District.

Community and Professional Engagement

Dr. Sobek believes in enthusiastically giving back to the community and is active within the Waubonsee community. In addition, she is a respected industry professional. Dr. Sobek serves on many local, state, regional and national boards, committees and commissions. 

Read more about her community involvement and engagement.

Dr. Sobek with student

President's Perspective

Dr. Sobek regularly shares thoughts and perspectives on news and trends affecting higher education, students and their families through social media, print and on the Waubonsee website.

Read Dr. Sobek's latest writing, and review the archive of her writings, here.

President Nelson P

Past Presidents

Waubonsee has a history of strong presidential leadership. These individuals shaped the college from its beginning and led the transformation to its current status as a leader in higher education in the 21st century.

Learn more about our former presidents.



Executive Leadership

  • Douglas E. Minter, Vice President of Finance and Administration
  • Dr. Diane Nyhammer, Vice President of Educational Affairs
  • Dr. Jamal Scott, Vice President of Strategy and Community Development
  • Dr. Melinda Tejada, Vice President of Student Development and Executive Director of the Foundation

Office of the President Staff

  • Kim Caponi, Director of Presidential Communications and Operations
  • Mary Baccheschi, Executive Administrative Coordinator to the President/Clerk of the Board
  • Ronna Jones, Administrative Specialist, Office of the President
  • Kevin Farmer, Administrative Specialist, Office of the President

Contact Information

Contact Information

Christine J. Sobek, Ed.D.
Phone: (630) 466-2300
Fax: (630) 466-7550

Media Inquiries

Stephanie Wennmacher
Executive Director of Marketing and Communications
Phone: (630) 466-2487
Fax: (630) 466-4942

Elected Officials Inquiries

Christine J. Sobek, Ed.D.
Phone: (630) 466-2300
Fax: (630) 466-7550

Other Inquiries

Kim Caponi
Director of Presidential Communications and Operations
Phone: (630) 466-5703
Fax: (630) 466-7550