News & Events

Waubonsee Community College has inducted five former student athletes - Sara E. Merker, Scott Miller, Jeannine (Hill) Kelley, Tracy LeSure and Jamie McNair - into the school's athletic Hall of Fame.

Waubonsee Inducts Five Student-Athletes into Athletic Hall of Fame

Jamie McNair
Tracy LeSure
Jeannine (Hill) Kelley
Scott Miller
Sara E. Merker

Five luminaries from Waubonsee Community College’s athletic history have been enshrined in the college’s Athletic Hall of Fame and were honored at the college’s annual athletic banquet on May 8.

Jamie McNair, Tracy LeSure, Jeanine (Hill) Kelley, Scott Miller and Sara E. Merker were chosen to form the eighth class of the Waubonsee Athletic Hall of Fame for their involvement in sports, dedication to Waubonsee, athletic successes, and contributions to the community or career accomplishments earned after leaving Waubonsee.

Jamie McNair, who graduated from Oswego High School, represented Waubonsee in golf from 1988-1989. After a strong high school golf career, McNair was awarded a golf scholarship to attend Southern Illinois University. But after he was redshirted as a freshman, McNair returned home and became the first student-athlete to ever receive an athletic scholarship at Waubonsee. While at Waubonsee, McNair earned All-Skyway Conference honors in 1988 and 1989, and led the Chiefs to the conference title both years. He qualified to compete in the NJCAA National Tournament in both 1988 and 1989, as well.

Tracy LeSure, who graduated from Aurora East High School, became a defensive star for the Waubonsee men’s basketball team from 1976-1978. Even though he stood just 6’0” tall, LeSure was routinely assigned to defend opponents’ best offensive player, regardless of height. And LeSure would routinely shut that opponent down offensively. His defensive prowess has been credited with helping Waubonsee win conference titles in 1977 and 1978. During his time at Waubonsee, LeSure was named to the All-Skyway Conference squads in both 1977 and 1978. He also led the Chiefs in assists and finished third in the conference in that statistical category.

Jeanine (Hill) Kelley, who graduated from West Aurora High School, starred on the tennis courts for Waubonsee from 1979-1980. The daughter of longtime Waubonsee tennis coach Doug Hill, Kelley captured the Skyway Conference’s number one singles championship in both her freshman and sophomore years. And she played at number one doubles both years, capturing the conference title each season. She was selected as the Skyway Conference’s Player of the Year Award in both 1979 and 1980, leading the Chiefs to consecutive conference titles in those years.

Scott Miller, who graduated from Yorkville High School, was a two-year starter on both the Waubonsee men’s basketball and baseball teams from 1982-1984. Miller has credited his experience playing under Waubonsee basketball coach Jay Bryant and legendary baseball coach Dave Randall with helping him to learn the skills he has employed in his subsequent successful 27-year high school teaching and basketball coaching career. His career has included stops at both Plano High School and Glenbard East High School.

Sara E. Merker, who graduated from Downers Grove South High School, has been credited with helping put the Waubonsee women’s soccer team in the national conversation for the first time with her brilliant play from 2007-2008. During her career at Waubonsee, Merker established Waubonsee career scoring records with a total of 45 goals and 108 points. She racked up a host of honors, including 2008 NJCAA Division I All-American Honorable Mention; Illinois Skyway Collegiate Conference Player of the Year; Region IV Player of the Year; NJCAA Division I Offensive Player of the Week; All-Region IV First Team; and All-ISCC First Team. With Merker on the field, the Waubonsee women’s soccer squad recorded its first winning season in 2007, and in 2008, secured its first conference title and NJCAA Region IV crown. Merker also starred for the Waubonsee women’s cross country team, as well, helping the team win conference and Region IV titles, and advance to the NJCAA Division I National meets in 2007-2008. She was honored as Waubonsee’s Female Athlete of the Year for 2008-2009.

Waubonsee’s Athletic Hall of Fame was formed in 2007 in conjunction with the school’s 40th anniversary celebration. It honors former Waubonsee administrators, faculty and staff; athletes; coaches; community supporters; and specific teams who are five years removed from their involvement with Waubonsee athletics.