Kane County Health Department, Distinguished Contributor 2021

Sugar Grove – Waubonsee Community College announces its 2021 Distinguished Contributor. The Kane County Health Department (KCHD) is a valuable community resource and, when faced with a global pandemic, has become invaluable in helping the college develop a pandemic response plan and is this year’s Distinguished Contributor.  

KCHD and its leadership not only supports the Waubonsee mission but has significantly contributed to helping the college develop a pandemic response plan to continue offering limited in-person classes and services while maintaining the health and safety of the Waubonsee community across four campus locations in Sugar Grove, Aurora Downtown, Aurora Fox Valley, and Plano.

“When federal and state guidelines have seemed to change frequently, the KCHD team has helped the college maintain significant stability in both response protocols for positive infections and the college’s ongoing mitigation efforts,” said Doug Minter, Vice President of Finance and Administration.

KCHD also partnered with Waubonsee’s Division of Health Professions and Public Service to provide students with real-world learning opportunities. 

Students from various programs received the personal satisfaction and pride of participating in aspects of contact tracing and administering the COVID-19 vaccine to the community during this health emergency.

“While no one can predict the future with any certainty, of course, we also have appreciated the interpretations and predictions that they have been able to offer on our key environmental trends,” added Minter.

Each year, the Distinguished Contributor Award is presented to an individual or group who has made an outstanding contribution or given exemplary support to Waubonsee Community College. Nominees for the award are recognized as having made an extraordinary commitment to promoting the college and its mission.