News & Events

Waubonsee Student Senate Members Elected

Back row (L to R): Katie Doherty, Isaac Soriano, Jon Beltrano, Baron Slatton, Santino Zamudio, Johnathan Ford, Brian Moreno. Front row (L to R): Yosemite Pinedo, Sydnee Gillispie, Blair Gray, Claudia Resendiz. Not pictured: Alanis Romero.
click for larger image

Seven students were recently elected members of the Waubonsee Community College Student Senate. Student senate members are elected by the student body to serve one year.

During their term in office, the student senate members gain leadership and interpersonal skills, learn to work with budgets and experience how to organize campus events. They are responsible for administering student government policies and activities at the Sugar Grove, Aurora, Copley and Plano Campuses.

The 2015-2016 student senator office holders are: Sydnee Gillispie, of Yorkville (sociology); Brian Moreno, of Aurora (mass communications); Yosemite Pinedo, of Aurora (international relations); Claudia Resendiz, of Sandwich (elementary education); Alanis Romero, of North Aurora (pre-med); Isaac Soriano, of Aurora (science); Santino Zamudio, of Plano, (criminal justice); Jon Beltrano, of Batavia, (journalism); Katie Doherty, of Yorkville (special education); Johnathan Ford, of Aurora (special education); Baron Slatton, of Newark (computer science). Blair Gray, of Oswego (psychology) is president and Jesse Garner, of Aurora, (political science) is the student trustee.

Related Links