News & Events

Three Waubonsee students earned awards at the recent Illinois Skyway Collegiate Conference Writers Festival.

Students Earn Writing Awards

Group of students and faculty pose at the Skyway Writers Festival.
Waubonsee students participating in the Skyway Writers Festival included: (front row, l to r) Matt Adams (with medal), Hallie Koontz, Carolyn Schroeder (with medal), Eivilyn Lopez, Elizabeth Burns, Brittany Nickels, (back row, l to r) James Kerr, Nathan Krauz, Hannah Dorn, Crystle Fogleman, Assistant Professor of English Todd Laufenberg and English Instructor Dan Portincaso.
click for larger image

Three Waubonsee Community College students earned awards at the Illinois Skyway Collegiate Conference Writers Festival, which was held at Elgin Community College on Dec. 1.

Nathan Krauz, of Montgomery, took first place in the drama/screenplay category for his work, “Because Pessimists Die Faster,” while Carolyn Schroeder, of Geneva, won the short fiction category with her “Yellow Shoes.” Matthew Adams, of Batavia, earned third place in nonfiction with his submission, “Mead.”  

Other Waubonsee students participating included Elizabeth Burns, of Aurora; Hannah Dorn, of Big Rock; Crystle Fogleman, of Addison; James Kerr, of Aurora; Hallie Koontz, of Geneva; Eivilyn Lopez, of Yorkville; and Brittany Nickels, of Sandwich.