MINUTES WAUBONSEE COMMUNITY COLLEGE Board of Trustees Special Board Meeting

February 1, 2024

I. Convene Open Session

A special meeting of the Board of Trustees of Waubonsee Community College, Community College District 516, Kane, Kendall, DeKalb, LaSalle, and Will Counties, IL, convened at 8:37 a.m. on Thursday, February 1, 2024, in the Community Board Room of Dickson Center, Route 47 at Waubonsee Drive, Sugar Grove, IL.

Roll call found the following board members present: Patrick Kelsey, Stacey Ries, Greg Thomas, and Tina Willson; board member present by means of video conference: Rebecca D. Oliver; board members absent: Rick Guzman and Jack McGreevy; and staff members present: Dr. Brian Knetl, Douglas E. Minter, Dr. Diane Nyhammer, Dr. Melinda Tejada, Mary Baccheschi, John Bryant, Kim Caponi, Ryan Hanback, J. C. Paez, Dr. Stacey Randall, Marlene Russell, Stephanie Wennmacher, and Lei Xie.

Mr. Guzman arrived at 8:38 a.m. and joined the meeting.

Board Vice Chair Patrick Kelsey announced at the beginning of the meeting that some of the topics, as listed on the public agenda, have been rearranged to accommodate recent changes in board member schedules. In addition, the discussion on the agenda item, "TIFs, Abatements, and Other Tax Revenue Considerations," has been postponed until a future board meeting.

II. Public Comment

A. General Public Comment

III. Institutional Reports and Presentations

A. Strategic Budget Model and Academic Year 2024-2025 Tuition Discussion

Douglas Minter, Vice President of Finance and Administration, and John Bryant, Assistant Vice President of Finance, presented a strategic budget model, which is a multi-year budget model that would align with the Strategic Plan in support of proactive decision-making. In addition, Mr. Bryant provided a report on academic year 2024-2025 tuition and student fee rate considerations, as well as next steps regarding a recommendation for board approval at the February 21, 2024 board meeting.

Mr. McGreevy arrived at 9:23 a.m. and joined the meeting.

B. Board Policy Review

Dr. Brian Knetl, President, and Mr. Minter discussed recommendations for convening regular meetings with the Board Policy Committee, then provided next steps and timing for the process.

IV. Executive Session

The board, on a motion by Mr. Thomas and seconded by Mr. Guzman, unanimously voted to adjourn to executive session at 9:58 a.m. in accordance with Section 2a of the Open Meetings Act where the board discussed items covered under the following exception: the selection of a person to fill a public office, including a vacancy in a public office.

V. Reconvene to Open Session

The board reconvened in open session at 10:41 a.m. Roll call found the following board members present: Rick Guzman, Patrick Kelsey, Jack McGreevy, Stacey Ries, Greg Thomas, and Tina Willson; board member present by means of video conference: Rebecca D. Oliver; staff members present: Dr. Brian Knetl, Douglas E. Minter, Dr. Diane Nyhammer, Dr. Melinda Tejada, Mary Baccheschi, John Bryant, Kim Caponi, J. C. Paez, Dr. Stacey Randall, Marlene Russell, and Stephanie Wennmacher; and featured presenters: Lee Smith, Ben Chrischilles, and Gena Flynn of Huron Consulting Services, LLC.

VI. <u>Institutional Reports and Presentations</u> (continued)

A. Strategic Planning: Discussing the Case for Action with Huron Consulting Services, LLC

Dr. Stacey Randall, Executive Dean for Institutional Effectiveness and Title V Project Director, introduced representatives from Huron Consulting Services, LLC: Lee Smith, Managing Director; Ben Chrischilles, Director, Strategic Planning; and Gena Flynn, Manager, DEI Advisor, who facilitated a discussion with the board about their vision for our new strategic plan. The focus was on the future of higher education and how Waubonsee can address trends in the labor market, enrollment, technology, well-being, and the student experience.

Ms. Willson departed the meeting at 11:32 a.m.

VII. Adjournment

The board, on a motion by Mr. Guzman and seconded by Mr. Thomas, unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 12:00 p.m.

Greg Thomas

02/21/2024 21:12 CST

Gregory Thomas, Secretary Waubonsee Community College Board of Trustees

I reg homes