

FOR WAUBONSEE COMMUNITY COLLEGE

The four campuses of Waubonsee Community College occupy the traditional homelands of the Peoria, Bodwéwadmi (Potawatomi), Mascoutin, Myaamia (Miami), Očhéthi Šakówin (People of Seven Council Fires, also known as the Sioux Nation), Hoocąk (HoChunk), Kaskaskia, and Kiikaapoi (Kickapoo). We respectfully acknowledge these individuals and communities, along with their cultures, stories, and struggles – past and present.

We honor Chief Waubonsee (Wah-bahn-se) of the Potawatomi, for whom our college is named, and the indigenous owners of the area we now occupy and whose dispossession allowed for the growth of this institution. As we acknowledge past injustices, we honor the historical stewardship of the land and recognize our responsibility for continued care and respect of the people and traditions of the communities to whom we are indebted and to stand against injustice in our world today.

As an educational institution focused on access and equity, the college is committed to pairing this acknowledgement with action-leading to greater levels of respect and inclusivity in all our teaching, learning, and community building efforts.