Athletic Event

Waubonsee Chiefs' Invitational

Lesak finishes first, leads Lady Chiefs to team title

Lesak finishes first, leads Lady Chiefs to team title

Conference: No

Opponent: Prairie State, Sauk Valley and Elgin
Score: 26

The Lady Chiefs began the 2013 season serving notice that they will likely be one of the top junior college squads in the NJCAA Region IV this fall. Waubonsee won the team title of the Chiefs Invitational without top returning runner Jenn Howland even competing, holding off Prairie State College for the big trophy. Led by freshman Amanda Lesak, who finished first overall, Waubonsee tallied a team total of 26 to edge the Pioneers by four points. Lesak covered the 3-mile course in a time of 20:55, six seconds ahead of Prairie State's Larissa Swanson. Sophomores Amanda Palmquist (5th) and Ashley Leonetti (10th) also placed in the top-10, while the Lady Chiefs' other returning sophomore Jazmin Zepeda also did not participate. Vashti Harris placed 14th, Elizabeth Berland came in 16th and Gabby Martinez was 17th to round out Waubonsee's contingent of runners.