News & Events

Waubonsee Leaders Recognized by Illinois Community College Trustees Association

Richard "Shorty" Dickson
Dr. Richard C. Bodie

Three of Waubonsee Community College’s leaders were recently recognized for their service by the Illinois Community College Trustees Association.

Waubonsee Board Chairman Richard “Shorty” Dickson, Board Member Dr. Richard C. Bodie and President Dr. Christine Sobek were each recognized by the ICCTA during its annual awards luncheon and banquet June 6 in Springfield.

Dickson, of Bristol, was recognized for four decades of service to Waubonsee, receiving his “40-Year Trustee” designation. He and a colleague from College of Lake County are the first elected trustees in the state to achieve such a milestone.

Dickson has served on the board since 1972, taking only two years off from 1987-1989. His current six-year term runs through 2019.   

Bodie, of Aurora, received his second Trustee Education Award for participation in 30 or more seminars offered by ICCTA. He has served on the board since 1998, and his current six-year term also runs through 2019.

Sobek received the ICCTA’s 2014 Advocacy Award, given to individuals who have demonstrated outstanding leadership advocating for the needs of Illinois community college students and the state’s community college system. Sobek has served as Waubonsee’s president since 2001.

Related Links