News & Events

Five Waubonsee Community College students won awards in the recent Skyway Conference STEM Poster Competition. In all, 16 Waubonsee students submitted entries into the contest.

Waubonsee Students Secure Honors in Skyway STEM Poster Competition

Five Waubonsee Community College students were recognized in the recent Illinois Skyway Collegiate Conference’s STEM Poster Competition.

In all, 16 Waubonsee students submitted entries for the competition, held April 25 at Morton College. The submitted posters summarized the students’ research projects in the subject areas, which collectively are referred to by the acronym STEM – science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

Andrew Meyer, of Yorkville, and Aaron Gonzalez, of Oswego, won second place in the Engineering category for their poster, titled “Maximizing Solar Energy Output.”

Erin Johnston, of Geneva, and Marisa Ascensio, of Oswego, placed third in Biology for their project, “Bacterial Resistance to Antibiotics.”

And, Osvaldo Arroyo, of Aurora, secured third place in Physics/Earth Science for his work on “The Hydrogeology of Waubonsee Community College Wetlands.”

Also submitting posters were Waubonsee students Cailey Vandermark; Carol Victor; Dawn Miller; Daniza Leon-Gavin; Hannah Medernach; Breanna Gaddy; Chris McGowen; Andrea Salinas; Chezka Eusebio; Erin Mahan; and Kevin Yanno.

They were accompanied to the event by several Waubonsee STEM faculty mentors, including Amy Del Medico, Associate Professor of Mathematics; Tracey Dosch, Associate Professor of Biology; David Voorhees, Associate Professor of Earth Science/Geology; and Dan Ward, Professor of Biology.