News & Events

Waubonsee Announces Student Senators

The members of the Waubonsee Community College Student Senate were introduced at the college’s board of trustees meeting on Oct. 16.

The 2013-2014 student senator office holders are: President Marisa Ascencio, of Montgomery; Vice President Ryan Kane, of Oswego; and Secretary Sendy Perez, of Aurora. Additional student senators include: Stephen Lambert, Claire Wiesner and Gonzalo Moreno, of Aurora; Edwin Rodriguez, of Sugar Grove; Richard Aguilar, of North Aurora; Nicole Olenek, of Montgomery; Alissa Bruechert, of Yorkville; Claire Cerny, of Geneva; William Osborne, of Elburn; and Jessica Bustamante, of Plano. Mekenah Merrill, of Somonauk, will serve as the 2013-2014 Student Trustee.  

During their terms of office, student senate members gain leadership and interpersonal skills, learn to work with budgets, and experience how to organize campus events.

Members of the student senate are responsible for administering student government policies and activities at the Sugar Grove, Aurora, Copley and Plano Campuses. They are elected by the student body to serve a term of one academic year.