News & Events

Waubonsee Student Senators Announced

a posed group photo of the 2012-13 Student Senate
2012-2013 Student Senate
click for larger image

The 12 elected members of the Waubonsee Community College Student Senate were introduced at the college's board of trustees meeting on Oct. 17.

The 2012-2013 student senator office holders are: President Lizbeth Camacho, of Oswego; Vice President Jelena Lazic, of Aurora; and Secretary Omar Fayad, of Aurora.

Additional student senators include: Anthony Détente, of Batavia; Betsy Jauregui and Benedict Wiesner, of Aurora; Rami Sa'd, of North Aurora; Marisa Ascencio, Nicole Marie Olenek and Yoseph Willis, of Montgomery; Mekenah Merrill, of Somonauk; and Daniel Lozoya, of Yorkville. KC Vogt, of Aurora, will serve as the 2012-2013 Student Trustee. 

During their terms of office, student senate members gain leadership and interpersonal skills, learn to work with budgets, and experience how to organize campus events.

Members of the student senate are responsible for administering student government policies and activities at the Sugar Grove, Aurora, Copley and Plano Campuses. They are elected by the student body to serve a term of one academic year.