Sustainability Working Group

While the college has been practicing waste reduction, recycling and conservation for nearly 20 years, Waubonsee President Dr. Christine J. Sobek ensures that sustainability and Waubonsee's role as a leader in environmental responsibility continues to be a high priority. 

After signing the Illinois Sustainable Universities Compact, Dr. Sobek formed the Sustainability Working Group, a team of faculty, staff and administrators who work together to coordinate and promote sustainability initiatives campus-wide. Members of the Sustainability Working Group have lent their expertise to provide community education on sustainability topics, advise student organizations and further develop our educational departments and certificate programs.

Meet the Team:
Dr. Christine J. Sobek, Waubonsee President

Lulu Blacksmith, Director of Governmental and Multicultural Affairs

Cassie Blickem, Program Development Analyst

Kim Caponi, Senior Executive to the President

Sowjanya Dharmasankar, Assistant Professor of Economics

Danielle DuCharme, Assistant Professor of Biology

Lesa Norris, Dean for Workforce Development

Jane Regnier, Assistant Vice President of Program Development and Distance Learning

David Voorhees, Associate Professor of Earth Sciences and Geology

Dale Willerth, Director of Campus Operations

Jill Wold, Assistant Vice President of Instruction