President's Biography

Waubonsee President Dr. Christine J. Sobek

Dr. Christine J. Sobek became the fourth president of Waubonsee Community College on July 1, 2001. In this role, she is responsible for the overall leadership of the college — which serves more than 19,000 credit and non-credit students each year, employs approximately 1,400 faculty and staff, and offers educational programs and services at a network of four permanent campuses located across the 624-square-mile college district and through extensive online offerings.

Dr. Sobek has more than 35 years of community college administrative experience. Prior to her appointment as president, Dr. Sobek served in several administrative roles at Waubonsee, including provost from 2000-2001; executive vice president for Educational Affairs from 1997-2000; assistant vice president for Instruction from 1993-1997; assistant vice president for Student Development from 1991-1993; and dean of Student Development from 1989-1991.

Dr. Sobek joined Waubonsee in 1989 after 11 years of employment at the College of Lake County in Grayslake, Illinois. Her leadership roles at that college included executive assistant to the President; director of Personnel, Affirmative Action officer; and director of Placement.

In addition, Dr. Sobek’s experience includes service as an adjunct faculty member at Trinity College, Deerfield, Illinois from 1985-1989 and as an assistant director of Student Affairs at Lyman Briggs Residential College at Michigan State University.

Dr. Sobek earned a doctoral degree from Northern Illinois University, a master's degree from Michigan State University, and a bachelor's degree, with Highest Distinction, from Purdue University. She is a member of Phi Beta Kappa and an honorary member of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society.

Dr. Sobek’s awards include the Outstanding Alumni Award from Northern Illinois University; the Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction from Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society; an Influential Women in Business award sponsored by The Business Ledger; the Michigan State University College of Education Alumni Association Distinguished Alumni Award; a Quad County Urban League Lifetime Achievement Award; the National Council of Marketing and Public Relations District 3 Pacesetter of the Year Award; the Illinois Community College Trustees Association Advocacy Award; and national finalist for the American Association of Community Colleges Emerging Leadership award.

Locally, Dr. Sobek serves as chair of the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning Economic Development Committee, and as a member of the Valley Industrial Association Board of Directors, Rush-Copley Medical Center Board of Directors, the Marmion Academy Board of Trustees, and the Invest Aurora Board. Statewide leadership roles include Past President of the Illinois Council of Community College Presidents, appointed member of the Illinois Pathways Advisory Council, and member of the Northern Illinois University College of Education Dean’s Advisory Board. National leadership roles include service on the American Association of Community Colleges Board of Directors and the American Council on Education Commission on Inclusion.

Contact Amanda Geist to request Dr. Sobek's photo.